

# Extraordinary Meeting of the Council

Minutes - 20 July 2022

# Attendance

Mayor	Cllr Sandra Samuels OBE (Lab)
Deputy Mayor	Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre (Lab)

# Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Qaiser Azeem Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Lovinyer Daley Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Jasbinder Dehar Cllr Steve Evans

# Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Jonathan Crofts Cllr Wendy Dalton Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Stephanie Haynes Cllr Sohail Khan Cllr Andrew McNeil

# **Employees**

Mark Taylor David Pattison John Denley Richard Lawrence Claire Nye Alison Hinds Cllr Val Evans Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Jaspreet Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Rashpal Kaur Cllr Linda Leach Cllr Asha Mattu Cllr Barbara McGarrity QN Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Beverley Momenabadi Cllr Lynne Moran Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Phil Page Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Clare Simm Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Gillian Wildman

Cllr Mak Singh Cllr Paul Singh Cllr Udey Singh Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Ellis Turrell Cllr Jonathan Yardley

Deputy Chief Executive Chief Operating Officer Director of Public Health Director of Regeneration Director of Finance Deputy Director of Children's Social Care

The proceedings opened with Prayers

#### Item No. Title

#### 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Paul Appleby, Councillor Olivia Birch, Councillor Paul Birch, Councillor Adam Collinge, Councillor Carol Hyatt and Councillor Andy Randle.

#### 2 **Declarations of interest**

There were no declarations of interest made.

#### 3 **Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman**

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Ian Brookfield presented the report on Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman. He requested that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillor Keith Inston.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Ian Brookfield added Mr Inston had a total of 24 years' distinguished service. He had served the residents of East Park Ward, but also held many important positions within the Council impacting on the lives of the citizens of our whole City.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Ian Brookfield proposed the recommendation, Councillor Wendy Thompson seconded the recommendation. They paid tribute to the contribution of former Councillor Keith Inston.

Resolved:

That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Keith Inston.